Family food…and school lunches

3 Sep

I have to admit that lunch is my least favourite meal of the day. I’m also not a very creative meal planner or fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants food creator. I like recipes and steps and measuring and having things all planned out ahead of time. I am also the worst at looking at the ingredients I have on hand and pretty much coming up with….nothing. It’s like a great big blank block in my brain. So we often have breakfast for dinner among all kinds of other things for meals. I do try to make them as healthy as possible, though. I have started keeping those veggie tray containers from Costco and buying a bunch of different veggies to have chopped up and ready to go all the time. The kids grab it out all the time and munch on all the vegetables in there. Any time of day. I never say no to that!

I recently was catching up on one of the blogs I follow and one entry was showing all her favourite cookbooks. There was a couple in particular that caught my eye, but one I investigated further and ended up ordering it through iBooks. (It was cheapest that way). It’s called Weelicious.

Weelicious_zps63ad9164

I also pre-ordered her Weelicious Lunches book because school is beginning for Maya and given that lunch is already my least favourite meal of the day, I figured I could use some extra help! It arrived yesterday evening, so I downloaded it right away and read it last night before bed! There are a TON of ideas in it so I’m excited to try them!

WeeliciousLunches-hc-905x1024

 

These books are really great, creative and healthy. I’m looking forward to trying the recipes in them and hoping that my kids will be excited to help me make food that they will enjoy eating!

There is also a website with recipes, videos, and tips weelicious.com

2 Responses to “Family food…and school lunches”

  1. maggiemaysgifts September 3, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    Those books look fun! You should do some reviews of it once you get it. I’d love to hear of some of the ideas you try.

  2. Amanda September 23, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

    Great idea. I’ve reserved the book from the library.

Leave a Reply

