While the cat is away…(aka while mom is distracted)

16 Feb

This certainly isn’t going to be any advice on being a mom, but a little snippet of the other day what the kids were up to while I was distracted.

Scenario #1

I wish I had taken a picture of it, but I had been on the phone (of course) trying to get a renewal of Gavin’s medication and I’d had to run up and down the stairs to get some info for the pharmacy and I forgot to relock the food closet in the kitchen. Rylan took it upon himself to get some crackers, but not only got them out of the cupboard, but took the bag out of the box, brought it into the living room and dumped them all out onto the ottoman and carpet. Mmmmmm…delightful. He did tell himself “I did it!!” I guess he was proud of himself.

Scenario #2

Maya and Rylan were nicely playing in the toy room. (I should have known better). I was putting Gavin down for a nap. They sound like they were having a great old time. I come back downstairs and was greeted by this:

Maya has decided to take almost all the bins out of our nicely organized shelf and dump them in this Spiderman ball pit thing. The picture is a bit deceptive, but there were a LOT of toys in there! Oh how I hate toys sometimes!! Especially small toys with LOTS of pieces!

Rylan was pretty buried amongst the toys and required some serious aid to escape the clutches of the giant floor puzzle and fake food products. At least he found some ice cream to keep him occupied!

3 Responses to “While the cat is away…(aka while mom is distracted)”

  1. Rachel February 16, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    I think you will look back at these pictures and scream with laughter. Oh, one day our houses will be as clean as we want them to be! 🙂 I also have a love-hate with toys. So good, and yet so messy….

    • Laurie February 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

      Reading this reminds me of the time your brother (Ryan – about the same age as Rylan) ‘decorated’ the living room; kitchen; hallway; furniture with not one but two freshly baked buckets of granola!!! I daresay the crackers were easier to clean up!!! Not quite what I wanted to see when I came down the stairs…

  2. Laurie February 22, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    And I seem to recall a certain two sisters (aka Jessica and Jennifer) dressing up their little brother (Ryan) in every single article of dressup clothes so that all you could see was a wee little face peering out of this giant pumpkin of clothing that could only slightly ‘bounce’ along to try and walk!!!

Leave a Reply

