Kids rooms

7 Feb

Because the weather had been pretty yucky and nasty, Dave and I wanted to change things up a little in the kids’ rooms. We had gone out on a Friday night and ended up at Home Depot. Somehow we were drawn to the lighting department, so we had a look around and found some cool lights to replace the ones in their rooms. Because Maya and Rylan’s room have vaulted (and sloped) ceilings we chose to buy lights that hung down to break up the rooms a little.

For Maya we found a pretty chandelier (which I LOVE) and for Rylan’s a boat. They also had an airplane one in the same design as the boat, but the airplane wasn’t able to be angled and didn’t hang down so far. Maybe we’ll one day get it for Gavin.

It was fun to shake things up a bit and I love seeing different lights in their rooms now!

I also FINALLY got around to doing up letters for Gavin’s room. I’d bought some letters before and painted them, but didn’t get around to finishing the rest of what I wanted to do with them, so they just sat. They sat for long enough that I didn’t really like them any more and decided to change them a bit. I bought new letters and colours, decided to put them in picture frames (because it’s a spacious, empty wall they would sit on) and get scrapbook paper for the background in the frames. I happened to find the frames on sale in packs of 3 at Michael’s one day, so I snapped them up. Actually they came together nicely. I attached the letters to the background with double sided tape and then hung them with hanging strips (my new best friend!) I have another idea for Gavin’s other walls that I found on Etsy that I would like to copy if I can get around to doing that too.

3 Responses to “Kids rooms”

  1. Carla February 8, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    looks great! i love the boat light! i have never seen those before!

  2. Laurie February 8, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    Love the lights! & the letters! I was in Home Depot in Nanaimo last week and looked around to see if they had those lights there but nothing at all like that.

  3. Rachel February 16, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    I LOVE Maya’s chandelier!! And Rylan’s cool light fixture, too. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

