First day of preschool

20 Oct

Yes, yes I know this is very late as Maya started preschool about a month and a half ago. I was kind of excited for her to go to preschool because I knew she would love it. After meeting her teacher at the open house earlier this year, I felt confident Maya would have a great time because her teacher is fantastic!

When she first started, the class was only an hour long, then they increased it to two hours, then finally after almost a month, the full two and a half hours. Let me tell you, it’s not a lot of time, especially when you’ve got two other kids to manage during this time. Her preschool isn’t near where we live, so going home and coming back isn’t a very good option. I looked nearby for a Strong start program because it’s free and drop-in and Rylan definitely could use it! Gavin I just keep wrapped up in my wrap and he generally sleeps most of the time.

I really wanted to make Maya a toddler sized backpack for preschool so I looked up on the internet for a tutorial to make one. I did purchase a PDF pattern to make it from. The fun part was then finding the perfect fabric for it. I had such a hard time deciding, but came up with this (it’s a Japanese fabric from superbuzzy.com) and it’s “Swedish school kids”. I also ordered this one in blue too because I wasn’t sure if the pink would be enough fabric to make this out of. I laid out all the pattern pieces prior to cutting out and they fit! I was excited because now I can make another backpack for Rylan!It turned out as well as I could have hoped, not too difficult. The tricky part was finding all the parts to go with it – the piping, (which I would probably just make myself next time), the webbing, the adjustable clips and a matching zipper. I ordered everything online and had to contain myself until it arrived. Since I really wasn’t getting out much at this point, it made everything easier to just order it all. I took the liberty of ordering other fabric while I was at it, so eventually I will get around to making things with those too!

3 Responses to “First day of preschool”

  1. Laurie October 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Like I said before – there is flashback ‘mini’ Jennifer – just darken the hair!

  2. Shelli McCullough October 29, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    You are a crazy good seamstress! Way to go. I think we have the same sewing machine. I just bought mine last year and I am loving it, although I can’t say that I have turned out anything quite as cute as that backpack!

    • iluvcaramelapples November 9, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      Thank you so much for your comment. I love reading your blog because you are so eloquent in expressing so many of the things I think/wonder/feel, especially about motherhood. I have a long way to go with it and it certainly is a journey!

Leave a Reply

