Birthday time!

10 Jan


This year I decided to combine a party for both Maya and Rylan since their birthdays are only 12 days apart. It was definitely a good idea and we had a fun time! I had wanted to make them t-shirts for their ages and I’d like to do them every year, or at least something similar. They turned out really cute. I used iron-on transfer paper and actually designed the  graphics in Word. I really wanted to do them in Photoshop, but I don’t really have that much practice doing graphic-type stuff in it; just manipulating and enhancing photos. It took me a little while to get them all right and the right sizes to fit on their shirts and everything, but I actually like how they turned out!

I also wanted to make sugar cookies for a favour for the party. (Really because I didn’t want to go and pick out all kinds of things for goody bags!) Plus I figured, who doesn’t like cookies? And I think it’s kind of fun to make and decorate cookies, even if you have to start doing them a few days ahead of time! So I kind of matched the design on their t-shirts and did Maya’s as a 3 and Rylan’s as a 1.

And last of all, I wanted to do a cake for each of them just because I don’t often make cakes throughout the year (it’s just too bad all our birthdays are clumped together). So I finally decided on making a castle cake for Maya and a black forest cake for Rylan. Is it sad that I want to do a cake for my birthday too? Side note – I came across this cake and immediately thought, “that looks amazing! That’s what I want to make for my birthday”. Never mind that it’s huge and I have no idea what I’d do with all the leftovers! I’m pretty sure everyone is tired of sweets and stuff by now! And we’re pretty much caked out!

The castle cake

I think everyone had a good time. We had some sandwiches and snacks, plus the cake and just visited with our friends. It was a great day! (And I’m glad I only had to worry about one party!)

2 Responses to “Birthday time!”

  1. Rachel January 10, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Hahahaha, I don’t know how you can even be friends with me and my Costco birthday cakes!!!! Everything looks beautiful. I LOVE the t-shirts. What a great idea!!

  2. Laurie January 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Oh Jennifer – I think you should go into event planning or something along that lines. The cakes (by now the ‘castle cake’ is just legend – can’t believe it has been going in the family for over 40 years!!) are divine and the t-shirts and cookies are so cute. I hope you all had a grand party. I love Rylan’s birthday hat.

    More birthdays to come!!

Leave a Reply

