Christmas baking

28 Dec

This year I didn’t want to do much in the way of Christmas baking. (Incidentally, I also didn’t mail out ANY Christmas cards, so sorry if you didn’t receive one from us because no one got one!) I did, however, really want to do some decorated sugar cookies because they’re kind of fun! They’re a bit of a process though, so don’t plan on doing them all in the same day unless you don’t have kids getting under your feet (or attached to your leg or climbing up on the table where you’re trying to decorate them nicely).

I’m always so frustrated at the consistency of my royal icing, but I think on the whole these ones turned out ok. I still wasn’t super happy with the consistency of the outline icing, but I kind of had to go with it since I had already put it in the piping bag to use. Honestly I was too lazy to take it out and try to thin it a bit more. It worked anyway.

The other thing I made were vanilla bean fleur de sel caramels. I’m usually not into candy making (I don’t really like fudge), but these sounded and looked so good that I had to try them. Also I have some vanilla beans that are probably past needing to get used, so it seemed opportune. I got the recipe from Confections of a Foodie Bride and it turned out really well. In fact, I still have some left, they may just get thrown out. We had too many goodies over Christmas anyway!

Photo courtesy of Annie’s Eats

 

3 Responses to “Christmas baking”

  1. Laurie January 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    well y ou must have kept the caramels well hidden!!! I certainly didn’t get to taste or test them when I was there. Where were they ? and the cookies look fantastic!

    • iluvcaramelapples January 10, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      Isn’t that funny? They were in a container under the sugar cookies. I probably had forgotten all about them by the time you got there. I still even have some left!

  2. Rachel January 10, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I continue to be in awe at your culinary feats with two small children underfoot! I don’t know how you manage it Jen!! Both are gorgeous.

Leave a comment