Holy delicious!

18 Oct

I came across this recipe for a pumpkin pie milkshake and decided I needed to make it today. In the wake of Thanksgiving I had some pumpkin leftover as well as vanilla ice cream for the Thanksgiving apple pie. It really does taste like the pumpkin pie blizzard from DQ! I didn’t put them graham cracker crumbs on top because I was too impatient. I think I would rather put some whipping cream sprinkled with nutmeg on top anyway. I mean, for heaven’s sake it’s already bad for you, there’s really no way to redeem it.

I found my blender worked just fine blending everything and I used just 1/4 c. of milk. I just pulsed it a bit and it was perfect!

Pumpkin Pie Milkshake
Recipe by Our Best Bites

1/3 C pumpkin, canned or homemade
1/4 – 1/2 C milk
1/4 t vanilla
1/2 t cinnamon
1/16 t cloves (just use a 1/8 t measure and fill it half way, or do a pinch)
1/16 t nutmeg
2 T brown sugar
2 C vanilla ice cream
1-2 graham crackers

Pop everything but graham crackers in a blender. Start with 1/4 C milk and then slowly add more if needed to make the blender process it all. I used somewhere between 1/4-1/2 C.

A note about blenders: Here’s the problem with making thick, diner style milkshakes at home: A lot of times you have to add so much milk to the thing to get the blender to process that it turns into a milk-slushie instead. Or you have to blend and plunge, blend and plunge, etc. You know the drill, right? So if you have any trouble with your blender, I would recommend blending everything but the ice cream first and then mashing it into the ice cream by hand (well, with a hand. Holding a fork or spoon 🙂 If your scooped ice cream sits out at room temp while you measure the other things and get them all ready, then by the time you mash it all together it should be a good consistency.

One Response to “Holy delicious!”

  1. Laurie October 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Okay, I will believe you. I am still not convinced that pumpkin should be a milkshake flavour.

Leave a Reply

