Birthday onesies

20 Sep

I recently had a bout of creativity. I had come across online how to make stencils for shirts using freezer paper. There are tons of tutorials on how to do this, so just Google it if you’re interested. I made these for a little boy who was turning one and for my first try they came out pretty cute! You use regular fabric paint (not the puffy kind) with small sponge brushes to dab it on.

It’s pretty neat, actually. Because one side of the paper is shiny (it’s used for wrapping meat for the freezer), you just iron it dull side up and it sticks to the shirt really well. When it comes time to remove the stencil you just peel it right off, and there’s nothing sticky left on your shirt!

Then you just iron lightly when the paint is completely dry and you’re good to go!

6 Responses to “Birthday onesies”

  1. Rachel September 20, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Oh my goodness!!! Where do you find the time? I’m in awe, Jen! I haven’t even hemmed my silly drapes yet. ( I’m such an apt seamstress, haha).

    • iluvcaramelapples September 22, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

      It’s because I neglect the cleanliness of my house! I just do it when the kids are in bed.

  2. Laurie September 20, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Just recently had a bout of creativity?!!!!! How about you live creative!!!!….I think this has something to do with all the “Mr. Dressup” you watched when you were little. Do you remember writing a letter to him?
    I think the onesies are absolutely darling. I hope they were appreciated where they went.

    • iluvcaramelapples September 20, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

      I sure do remember writing to him. I really wish I knew where those books ended up! I sure could use them now!

  3. Kelly September 21, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    I am so going to try this! They look awesome. I can see Christmas presents for my niece nephew in the future…

    • iluvcaramelapples September 22, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

      Kelly, if you ever want to practice it I have all the stuff. Just bring on over whatever you want to stencil on!

Leave a Reply

